RuhagoYacu  |  Africa  |  CAF cups

Nigeria name a 23-man squad for CHAN 2018

Nigeria team ’Super Eagles’ who will play against Rwanda ’Amavubi’ has named the final squad that will contest in the upcoming African Nations Championship in Morocco.

Nigeria coach Salisu Yusuf’s Super Eagles will be making their third appearance at the football showpiece and have been drawn in the same group with Libya, Rwanda and Equatorial Guinea.

They will meet Amavubi in the first match on January, 15. Rwanda Team are in Tunisia for ten days camp where they will play two friendly games against Sudan and Algeria in bid on preparations of the CHAN.

In Tunisia, Rwanda will play two friendly matches against Sudan on January 5 and Algeria on January 10, 2018 before heading to Tanger in Morocco on January 11.

The CHAN tournament will take place between 13th January to 4th February 2018 in Morocco.

Rwanda is in group C alongside Libya, Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea. Group C will be based in Tangier City.

Experienced names such as Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Stephen Eze and Austin Obaroakpo who were part of the squad to Rwanda 2016 made the final list and will look to make amends for their group stage exit in their last outing.

Nigeria topscorer Anthony Okpotu , Dayo Ojo, Abdullahi Musa and Okechukwu Gabriel will make their debut at the championship.

There are three goalkeepers, eight defenders, four midfielders and eight strikers.

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Oladele Ajiboye (Plateau United); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Osas Okoro (Rangers International); Daniel James (Plateau United); Kalu Orji Okogbue (Rangers International); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Abdullahi Musa (Wikki Tourists); Timothy Danladi (Katsina United); Ifeanyi Nweke (Kano Pillars); Stephen Eze (Kano Pillars)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Augustine Oladapo (Enyimba FC); Ekundayo Ojo (Sunshine Stars)

Forwards: Emeka Atuloma (Rivers United); Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars); Eneji Moses (Plateau United); Ibrahim Mustapha (Enyimba FC); Emeka Ogbuh (Rivers United); Sunday Faleye (Akwa United); Nura Muhammed (El-Kanemi Warriors); Okechukwu Gabriel (Akwa United).

Map : Home  \  Africa  \  CAF cups

Article's comments

    Please insert/write your name and e-mail in the space provided. Your comment will be released after scrutiny by RuhagoYacu administrator! Any irrelevant or abusive comment shall be rejected/deleted.
    Thank you!

Related articles